Kevin’s Power Smoothie

After much contemplation, I’ve decided to publish my top secret smoothie recipe.  Take it 30 minutes before a workout or afterward as a recovery drink.  Or, just take it for your health.  Guaranteed to increase performance 17%.  And best of all, it’s completely non-dairy (vegan).

And here it is:

  • 1 organic banana
  • 5-7 organic frozen strawberries
  • 1-2 heaping tablespoons ground flax seed – One of the healthiest things you can add to your diet and a great source of Omega-3 fatty acids.  Also gives the smoothie a great texture (I use Barlean’s FortiFlax)
  • 1 tablespoon organic extra virgin coconut oil – The healthiest of oils, supports your thyroid and gives you energy (Again, I use Barlean’s)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon hemp protein powder – Yes, hemp – for your health.  It’s one of the most complete sources of protein around and it’s plant-based (not milk or soy based) which I think is healthier.  (I use Manitoba Harvest)
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder – Maca is a root grown in the highlands of Peru.  It boosts energy and even increases libido.  You will notice the effect after a few doses.  (I use Macasure)
  • Almond milk (preferrably with no added sugar) – as needed to achieve a drinkable consistency

Put it all in a blender and 10 seconds later you’re done.  I found that regular blenders are a pain to clean up, so I bought a Back to Basics Blender Express, which is great because it is small and the container doubles as a mug to drink from.

Make sure you don’t skimp on ingredients – buy the good stuff.  Some of the ingredients are pretty expensive, but they last a long time.  I usually make about 3 or 4 smoothies a week.  You can buy most of this stuff online but if you can’t find something, let me know.

Now I’ll warn you – the taste takes a little getting used to.  This isn’t a sugary “dessert” smoothie like you get at Smoothie King.  The maca and hemp protein give it a nutty flavor.  But once you’ve had a few you’ll look forward to drinking it.

UPDATE:  Check out my new Superfood Smoothie recipe.  It’s even healthier and better tasting.

8 thoughts on “Kevin’s Power Smoothie

  1. Increased performance? Libido? Energy? Hippie Lettuce protein? Can I double the recipe and just put in in a CamelBak? I.V. bag? Laurel says “Thanks Kevin–it’s like Stephen’s in 8th grade again!” Heading to the local grocer this afternoon…stay tuned.

  2. Pingback: The best kind of marketing « Finding Balance

  3. Pingback: I am not a smart man. « Finding Balance

  4. Pingback: Kevin’s Superfood Smoothie « Finding Balance

  5. Pingback: Kevin’s Superfood Smoothie | Finding Balance

Leave a Reply

