I got slimed!

Slimer 

I went on a ride this morning and ran into Ben G. and Jason from ThinkCash at Benbrook Lake.  After riding with them a bit I headed home, intending to finish by climbing up Ranch View.  I haven’t been able to finish this way for a while because the bridge that crosses the Trinity River at Overton Woods has been flooded.  Now it’s above water, but is still wet.

As I coasted down the ramp to the bridge, I was deep in thought about something.  What I didn’t realize is that the entire bridge is coated in a layer of Trinity River Slime™.  The instant I turned on to the bridge, both wheels slipped out from under me and I was on the ground sliding toward the river.  Just like that, I took my first fall since I started riding (except for the clipping incident on my first ride, but that doesn’t count since technically I wasn’t moving).

I was going pretty slow, so nothing was hurt but my pride.  Plus, my whole right side was covered with Trinity River Slime™.  For those of you that aren’t familiar with the Trinity, it’s not exactly what you would call a “clean” river.  It’s the kind of place you might expect to find Blinky from the Simpsons.

Blinky

 I guess it’s inevitable that if you ride long enough you’re going to fall.  So at least the first one is out of the way.  Now I have to go scrub the Slime™ off before it starts to dissolve my skin.

UPDATE:  Just heard that Ben G. fell at exactly the same spot!

3 thoughts on “I got slimed!

Leave a Reply

