Caffeine works.

Most people that know me are aware that I don’t usually eat or drink anything with caffeine.  I’ve never been a coffee drinker and I had my last soft drink in 1991.  I do this for two reasons:

  1. For whatever reason, I’m really sensitive to caffeine and I don’t like the jittery feeling it gives me.
  2. I’ve read a lot of health-related books and almost all of them say caffeine is a big no-no (despite recent press to the contrary).

But when I started cycling, I tried Clif Shot Bloks , some of which have 50mg of caffeine per 3 bloks (by comparison, a can of Coke Classic contains 34mg).  Sometimes these things provide a much needed boost and keep me from suffering on a ride.

Take this morning, for example.  My alarm clock went off at 5:50.  But I was way too tired, so I turned it off and went back to sleep.  But then I woke up at 6:15 and felt a little better, so I decided to get up and hit the road.  I still felt a little slugglish, so I ate 2 blocks when I got started and one more about an hour later.  I ended up having a solid 37 mile ride.

So I’m breaking my own rule in the name of sports performance, but hey, at least Shot Bloks are 95% organic and the caffeine comes from green tea ;-)

2 thoughts on “Caffeine works.

  1. “Classic Coke” now you are showing your age. Were you tired from listening to your a-ha cassette and watching “Miami Vice”?

Leave a Reply

