I’m Tumbling

For the past few days, I’ve playing around with a new site called Tumblr.  On the surface, Tumblr looks like just another blogging service.  But once you understand some of the product’s subteties, you realize that it fits somewhere in between blogging services (e.g. WordPress) and social networking sites (e.g. Facebook).

Like other blog services, you can post text, photos, videos, and other stuff to your own site.  Tumblr’s minimalist interface is a bit easier to use than full-blown blogging tools and lends itself to shorter, simpler posts.  But the twist is that you can sign up to follow other “Tumblogs” and re-post their posts to your Tumblog with one click.

Why is this cool?  Well, a lot of the ideas for posts I make to my blog come from other blogs that I read.  This is how ideas spread and is what makes the blogosphere powerful.  Tumblr embraces this concept and makes it one-click-easy for ideas to spread and for people to express themselves in a new and interesting way.

So if you’re interested, you can check out my Tumblog at camp4.tumblr.com.  I’m going to experiment with it by posting shorter (or more random) thoughts and interesting stuff I find throughout my day.

One thought on “I’m Tumbling

Leave a Reply

