Subtleties

The other day I stumbled upon definr.com.  It’s a simple concept — an “incredibly fast dictionary”.  The UI is really clean and, as promised, it’s fast.  Compare it to Merriam-Webster, which is really cluttered and not especially fast.  So I took note.

The next time I needed to look up a word, I remembered definr.  The rest is history.  I’ve probably visited the site 10 times in the past few weeks.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about subtleties.  On the Internet, switching cost is often very low, so small differences in product design can result in big differences in market share.  And two things that get a huge premium online are speed and simplicity.

Leave a Reply

