Bloodletting

there_will_be_blood_poster21.jpg 

Last night I went with Ken and Jeff from work to see There Will Be Blood, written and directed by Paul Thomas Anderson.  This movie is nominated for Best Picture and has received almost unanimous praise by critcs and audiences (It scores 91% on Rotten Tomatoes).

Boogie Nights, also written and directed by PT Anderson, is one of my all time top 10 movies, so I had high expectations.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t have been more disappointed.  I can’t remember another movie that I’ve left feeling angry that I had wasted 3 hours of my life.

Some of the (few) negative reviews on Rotten Tomatoes nail it for me:

“An excruciatingly long one-note film.”

“If you want to be a movie snob this year, this is the one to say you’ve enjoyed. If you want to be entertained, this is the movie to avoid.”

“…a picture so ambitious, so filled with filmmaking, that its very scale almost obscures its blankness.”

The film, adapted from Upton Sinclair’s 1927 novel “Oil!”, details how oil transformed turn-of-the-century California.  Apparently it makes a statement about what is wrong with America today.  I guess I missed that part.

The one bright spot in the movie was the acting (particularly Daniel Day-Lewis), but that’s kind of like saying that the food was the highlight of the Titanic’s maiden voyage — it really doesn’t matter in the end.

2 thoughts on “Bloodletting

  1. Glad I didn’t join you. It’s so hard to get out to a movies when you have young kids – so it really sucks when you take the time to see one and it dissapoints

  2. I’ve heard so much about the movie. I thought it would be good. Funny you didn’t like it. But then, Boogie Nights has got to be one of the worst movies I have seen ;-)

Leave a Reply

