The Magic Tie

Our CEO wore a tie to work today and it reminded my of my favorite tie story…

It was 1994 and I was about to graduate from engineering school.  I had decided that I didn’t want to work as an engineer, so I was interviewing for other careers.  Management consulting was hot (remember Reengineering the Corporation?) and I had an interview with Price Waterhouse (now PricewaterhouseCoopers).  I spoke with several people from PW, the last one being the Partner. 

Like most college grads, I had bought a cheap suit for interviews.  But I had invested in a really nice silk tie.  When I walked into the room for my interview, the Partner immediately complimented me on my tie.  We hit it off and had a good discussion, and then midway through the interview he offered to buy my tie on the spot.

I didn’t know if this was some sort of test or if he really wanted to buy my tie, so I told him that the tie wasn’t for sale because every time I wore it to an interview I got an offer (For the record, I had exactly zero offers at the time).  He got a kick out of that and the rest is history.

pw.jpg

That tie was magic — I probably wore it 100 times over the next few years and more often than not I got a compliment on it.  Today it looks a little ratty, but I keep it on hand just in case…

5 thoughts on “The Magic Tie

  1. That is so good. How have I not heard this story before now? “It’s not for sale…” – I’m adding that to my repertoire.

Leave a Reply

