What a day!

Ben picked me up at 6:45am today for a trip to Half Moon Bay, CA for the annual TCV Customer Acquisition Forum.  Little did we know that a host of problems (including a plane with mechanical problems) would turn it into a 9 hour trip (with no food!).

Since the TCV event didn’t start until the evening, we stopped in Palo Alto to go for a ride (Ben had arranged rental bikes from Palo Alto Bicycles).  We did the Kings Mountain Road loop.  As you can tell from the elevation profile below, this route includes a big climb up Kings Mountain — 1,800 feet of elevation gain in about 5 miles.

As soon as we hit the climb, I lost sight of Ben — he’s a really strong climber and a “clydesdale” like me has no hope of keeping up on on a ride like this.  It was a tough climb, with great scenery, smooth roads, and temps in the 70’s.  I wish we had routes (and weather) like this in Fort Worth.

After the ride, we turned in the bikes, grabbed dinner, and headed to the hotel.  Soon  after checking in, I realized that I had left all of my shirts in Fort Worth.  It would be really impressive to walk into tomorrow’s meeting with our investors wearing a t-shirt and jeans (or, as Ben suggested, my cycling bib).

The good news is that I’m staying at the Ritz-Carlton, so they opened the gift shop for me so I could buy a shirt.  The bad news is that I’m staying at the Ritz-Carlton, so I now own a $225 Robert Graham shirt.

Time for bed.

2 thoughts on “What a day!

  1. What an idiot…I can’t believe you would show up to an important event without a jers…ERRRRRR…shirt. BTW, can I have the R. Graham next time you clean out the closet?

Leave a Reply

