It’s just too darn hot

I haven’t done a long ride in a while, so I had planned on doing a metric century (100k or 62 miles) this morning.  I left at about 8:45am and the temperature was already approaching 90.  By the time I finished the McDaniel/Kelly Loop, it was about 100 degrees (probably closer to 110 on the road) and the heat was starting to get to me.  Rather than push it, I cut it short at 48 miles.  Megan is out of town and I had to leave some gas in the tank to be a “single parent” for the rest of the day.

Every year about this time, I start questioning the sanity of living in Texas.  It’s just too hot to do anything outside other than swim or waterski.  To do a long ride, you definitely want to be on the road at dawn.

One thought on “It’s just too darn hot

Leave a Reply

