Youth is wasted on the young.

Today was the first day of fall classes at TCU, and the gym was a zoo.  Hundreds of students are starting the semester with the best of intentions to get in shape.  Within a week, most of them will clear out, leaving only the buff-boys (“What do you bench?”), the cardio-queens (“stairmaster first, then nails, then tan”), the ballers (“Who got next?”), and a sprinkling of swimmers, ping-pongers, climbers and random old dudes.  I fit somewhere in between the last two categories.

All the hustle and bustle caused me to reflect on my own college experience.  For those of us lucky enough to attend university full time, it’s a truly amazing opportunity.  You have almost no responsibility, tons of free time, and are surrounded by thousands of people with the same freedom. 

As I thought about it, I started feeling a little bummed out that I didn’t make more of my college experience.  I didn’t take any amazing summer trips, I wasn’t passionate about any particular sport or hobby, and I didn’t socialize a lot.  I guess I can’t complain too much — I did make good grades and met my wonderful wife.  But if I could do it all over again I think I’d get a lot more from the college experience. 

It reminds me of the old saying, “youth is wasted on the young.”

5 thoughts on “Youth is wasted on the young.

  1. i agree. you don’t appreciate it till it’s gone. I used to worry about grades in school. Who cares these days what grades I got ! Nobody ! And I don’t remember anymore thermodynamics because I started hard either. I forgot it all. I’m tempted to tell the kids one day to just go ahead, relax, have a good time (in moderateion) and take it all in and enjoy rather than hitting the library too much. And again, if I could do it all over again, I’d start climbing age 15 !

  2. We are experiencing the same student surge here in Aggieland. I love it when the little Aggies return. Yes, they flood the town with traffic, but they also bring a palpable energy with them. Each fall when they arrive I, too, reflect on college. I had a ball! I’m not sure I would change anything about the experience except my living in a modular dorm during year #2. It was too quiet and boring.

Leave a Reply

