Business + Pleasure


Yosemite (2006):  I did it for Abby

Today I’m leaving for yet another trip to California.  This time I’m headed to San Francisco… by way of Yosemite.  The purpose of the trip is to attend the TechCrunch50 conference.  I generally despise conferences, but I’m pretty excited about this one — 50 internet start-ups (selected from hundreds) will launch their products in rapid-fire 10 minute presentations.  For me, it’s an opportunity to see what’s happening on the leading edge of the internet.  I’m sure I’ll come back with lots of ideas for ThinkCash (warning to the marketing team!).

[As a side note, one of the organizers of the conference, Jason Calcanis, wrote a great two-part series on how to demo your startup.  These are great tips and many of them apply to any kind of presentation (especially fundraising).  Here are the links (Part II is best):  Part II , Part I  ]

As if TechCrunch wasn’t enough fun, I’m heading out a little early to climb at Yosemite (my favorite place on earth) with PaulT.  Pre-kids, I used to spend a week at Yosemite each summer.  We even managed to do a family trip there in 2006.  But when #2 arrived, the climbing trips became fewer and farther between.  This is my first multi-day trip since April.

One thought on “Business + Pleasure

  1. Pingback: Going back to Cali « Texas Tailwind

Leave a Reply

