My First Sponsor

One of the most interesting things about blogging is the people who stumble across your blog and you end up meeting.  I met Zack, a local climber, when he commented on one of my posts.  I was contacted by the owner of 231 Ellsworth, who thanked me for my positive review of his restaurant.  And today, I got an email from the owner of nubütte, one of the chamois cremes I reviewed last month:

Kevin,

I wanted to say Thank you so much for reviewing our product – nubütte chamois creme.  I would love to send you a can of product and a visor as a thank you.

Would you forward your mailing address to me?

Thanks again,

V.K.
Co-owner
nubütte chamois creme

It’s really smart for businesses to stay on top of what’s being said about them online.  Blogs are becoming increasingly influential (my blog is on the first page of Google search results for “nubutte review”) and engaging bloggers is a cost-effective way to market your product, particularly for small, niche-oriented businesses.  I’m certainly more likely to keep using nubütte now that I have a personal connection to the company.

Just one question:  Since I’m getting free product does this mean I’m a sponsorted athlete? ;-)

P.S.  I’ve been meaning to update my review of nubütte now that I’ve finished the whole can.  It’s a fantastic product — especially for long, hot rides — because it doesn’t break down as easily as other cremes.  The only downside is that it’s a bit more difficult to apply because it’s more like a paste than a creme.

4 thoughts on “My First Sponsor

  1. Pingback: Chamois Creme Showdown - Part Deaux « Finding Balance

Leave a Reply

