CrossFit’s New Year Workout

I was doing a little web surfing this evening and ended up at the CrossFit site.  I’ve written about CrossFit before — maybe I’ll give it a try in 2009.

Anyway, their first workout of the year was one called “Murph”.  You do all of the exercises below for time:

  • 1 mile Run
  • 100 Pull-ups
  • 200 Push-ups
  • 300 Squats
  • 1 mile Run

I’m not even sure I could do this workout, but it would be interesting to try.  One thing’s for sure:  If I did pull it off, I’d be wrecked (which is sort of the idea).

8 thoughts on “CrossFit’s New Year Workout

  1. For a less lengthy but still difficult task, do the shortened version, the sMurph. Cut all reps and distances by half.

    For a shorter workout but one that always seems to make me puke, try the Fran.

  2. 100 pull-ups?! Seriously, that alone would take me all day and I am still not confidant I would be able to complete. Everything else seems really tough but reasonable. Apparently I have some upper-body issues to address.

  3. I bet most guys couldn’t do more than 6-8 pullups in a row. Being a climber, it’s one thing I’m OK at. In my mind it makes up for my embarrassing bench press…

  4. Somehow, my blog linked to yours. I blame WordPress magic.

    Anyway – kudos for getting the year started off right.

    I think it is wordpress magic. My workout today is Angie: 100 pullups, 100 situps, 100 push-ups and 100 squats.

    I think having Angie come up is karma for saying out loud, “Wow, my push-up form looks kinda weak, I should work in a few more of those and I really want to be good at kipping pull-ups.”

    Wrecked indeed.

Leave a Reply

