My New Addict-ion

My 2011 Scott Addict R1 (the seat post and stem shown in the photo are temporary)

For the past year or so I’ve had the itch to get a new bike.  There was no good reason for for me to upgrade — the Kuota Khan I bought in 2008 still rode great.  But cycling is a gearhead sport — we’re always looking for something better and faster (and sexier).  Initially I had my eye on the new Cervelo S5, an aerodynamic road bike with some compelling science behind it.  But after an unimpressive test ride, my attention turned to the Parlee Z5 SL, which rides like a dream and has a minimalist aesthetic that appeals to me.  The only thing that kept me from pulling the trigger was the price tag, which approaches the cost of some new cars.

Then I stumbled across an eBay auction for a 2011 Scott Addict R1 in my size and at a price that was about half of retail.  I’ve heard good things about this bike and liked the way it looked so I took a gamble and this is the result.  Since I got such a good deal on the bike, I decided to bling it out with aftermarket components, most notably custom carbon cranks  and super-light brakes.

Custom Lightning Carbon Cranks with KCNC Cobweb Chainrings

EE Brakes – 80 grams lighter than Dura-Ace 7900

There are only four ways to make a bike faster:  Less weight, better aerodynamics, more stiffness, and better geometry (allowing the rider to be more aerodynamic, more comfortable, or generate more power).  This Addict represents a significant improvement for me in at least 2 of these categories.  At just under 14 lbs. (with pedals, bottle cages, and relatively heavy wheels), the Addict is 3.5 lbs. lighter than my Khan and it’s a lot stiffer (just ask Mark Cavendish).  And with longer cranks, I’m hoping the geometry may allow me to generate more power.

I decided to try 190mm cranks based on a lot of research I had done about optimizing crank length for taller riders.  There’s a lot of debate on this topic, but it makes basic common sense that taller riders with longer legs would need longer cranks.  Adding 1.5 cm to the crank length may not sound like much, but it feels very different.  You’re turning a much bigger circle and your feet travel 8% further with each revolution.  I’ve only done one ride on the new bike so the jury is still out on whether these cranks are going to make me faster or slower.  I saved the 175mm Dura-Ace 7900 cranks just in case…

For fellow gearheads, here are the complete specs on the bike:

  • Frame: Scott Addict R1
  • Fork: Scott Addict / HMX NET
  • Wheels:
  • Crankset: Custom Lightning Carbon (190mm)
  • Pedals:  Look Keo Blade (Carbon / Ti)
  • Cassette: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 (11-28)
  • Chain: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900
  • Brakes: EE Cycleworks
  • Handlebar: Ritchey WCS Logic Curve
  • Quick Releases: KCNS Titanium
  • Seat Post: TBD
  • Seat: Fizik Arione CX
  • Shifters: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900
  • Stem: TBD
  • Front Derailleur: Shimano Dura-Ace 7900
  • Rear Derailleur: Shimano Dura-Ace  7900
  • Bottle Cages: Arundel Mandible (side note:  I live about a quarter mile from Arundel Avenue, and ride with the founders — they make great products)
One thought on “My New Addict-ion

  1. Pingback: No Compromises « Finding Balance

Leave a Reply

